Training

Anything and everything about the Utah BMX scene.

Moderators: JAlvey, bnd

TripleBz
Huffy

Training

Postby TripleBz » Wed Dec 14, 2011 9:55 am

I just completed my first race last week and had a great time. I am in the 36-41 novice class. I made it to mains but quickly found out that I cant keep up with those guys that have been in there for awhile. I feel pretty good the first half of the race but the second half my endurance takes a big hit.

I would like to train a little between now and the next race in January and am curious what type of training you all suggest since it is winter.

TIA!

sixstringsteve
GT

Re: Training

Postby sixstringsteve » Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:33 am

I have the same issue. I'm curious about the responses you'll get. I'm a total novice, so take this advice with a grain of salt.

Jonas will say cardio, cardio, cardio. He'll recommend the treadmill/eliptical.

It's tough, but if you can find a place to get out and ride your bike where there isn't ice/snow, that's a good start. I can say that after 5 races I'm still tired after the race, but now I get tired on the last straight, not the second straight. So it does get better. :mrgreen:

I'm thinking of hitting a pump track on saturday afternoon (draper or eagle mounting) if you want to join me.

jnasty
GT

Postby jnasty » Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:52 am

Yeah its no secret that I love the treadmill in the winter, and the pavement in the summer. but running isnt for everyone. You can get cardio in many different ways, so get out there hit the bike, stationary bike, elliptical, treadmill, indoor track, or the indoor skatepark. Nothing beats bike time, and the more comfortable you feel on your bike, the better you will feel around the track, and you will be amazed at how much energy is saved when you are comfortable on the rig.